h1

Reflections for an interesting day

June 30, 2008

Today was the first official day of NECC.  The hustle and bustle, the hundreds and thousands of people going everywhere and doing everything.  I am really sure that I walked 5 miles today easy.  But my initial reflections of today really are wrapped around the notion of collaboration and sharing.  I saw examples of this all day today in one form or another.  People everywhere talking, leaning in to their computers together, working, and sharing.  I’m telling you, it was just an amazing site.  Everywhere I went there were people involved with people.  Sure there were folks working on their laptops solo, or focused on their own thing.  But I really think that if there was anybody out there who may have wanted to connect, they did just that.  

This is an amazing thing to me.  I came here to this conference to learn, and connect with others whom I have met and not met.  People who I have wanted to meet, who actually I feel like I know.  (if that isn’t too quirky??)  So far, I have not been disappointed.  I have gotten reacquainted with Cheryl Oakes from Maine, who I have learned so much from online.  We sat today and chatted about things and it was very natural.  She is such a nice genuine person who was kind enough to remember me from meeting me last year.  We shared a few sites and info.  We’ll visit again probably.  I also had a chance to visit with Wesley Fryer, the educational technologist and blogger at Moving at the Speed of Creativity, and probably one of my most important “teachers” when it comes to my 21st century attitudes and learnings.  He took time to coach me on my blog and how to spruce it up a bit.  So nice.  As we were sitting there, others came and went, and introduced one another and it was all so natural.  

So what is my point?  Well, this is a Computing conference.  But you know what, it is an EDUCATIONAL Computing conference.  I have already had lots of learning and it is only officially the first day.  So much of the time we are stuck on the tools of our trade.  What are we using, or who’s using what.  But I think, really when we get right down to it, we are all learners here, and really we are learning and sharing.  Growing.  This is a collective learning environment, where we are all like-minded people here for the same cause.  How can me make education more effective for our young people….  And then engaging in the conversations around that topic.  Tools or no tools, the conversation is the same.  What works for kids and teachers to make the most impact.  What a gift to be a part of that conversation.

 

Leave a Reply

